"I know of no other program in the media that is as creative, comprehensive and focused as 'Coming Of Age In Aging America'. I have every expectation that the project will help to launch an urgently needed national dialogue."

 

-Laura Carstensen | Director, Stanford Center on Longevity

 

Coming of Age in an Aging America is an extensive public media project aimed at creating conversation and action to productively shape America as an aging society. Content was developed in collaboration with the MacArthur Network on Aging and Society.

Click here to preview the temporary schedule. Coming of Age will also be available on the Next Avenue website (www.nextavenue.org) from June 2017 through August 2017

 

 

Coming of Age in Aging America will air nationally on the WORLD Channel.

 

Friday, June 30th at 6pm EST | 5pm CST | 4pm MST | 3pm PCT

Friday, June 30th at 9pm EST | 8pm CST | 7pm MST | 6pm PCT

Saturday, July 1st at 2am EST | 1am CST | 12am MST | 11pm PCT (Fri 6/30)

Saturday, July 1st at 10am EST | 9am CST | 8am MST | 7am PCT

Saturday, July 1st at 4pm EST | 3pm CST | 2pm MST |  1pm PCT

 

 

The project elements are:

•  A long form nationally broadcast Public Television documentary. Broadcasts begin March 26th. Please check  your local listings.

•  A website with additional video including the Big Idea in 4 minutes, print resources and ToolKit.

•  Characters, stories and revealing new research will carry the central themes of work, community and intergenerational relationships. We explore a Georgia community re-designing itself; a large medical system remolding its work environment under the banner of ‘A Life Well-Lived’ to retain older workers and invite younger ones; a classroom of young college students as they begin to grapple with the idea of longer lives – intellectually and emotionally.

 

Twin Cities Public Television is the project’s Public Television presenting station. American Public Television is the project's broadcast distributor.

 

Project Producer is Vital Pictures Inc, winner of a host of awards for its work, most recently the DuPont Columbia Award for Excellence in Journalism and a National Emmy nomination. For more information on Vital Pictures, visit www.vitalpix.com

 

Funding has been provided by the John A. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, the Sloan Foundation, AARP & the Silver Century Foundation.

 

   © Vital Pictures Inc. 2017  •  All Rights Reserved  |   Web Design by Lisa Schuchmann